Located on the fourth floor of the Central Library, the Mary-Lou Griffin Local History Room is the largest repository of genealogical data in York Region.
Combined Search for South York Region Local History Search all of the Richmond Hill Public Library's local history databases simultaneously.
Historic Cemeteries of South York Region Search photographs of tombstones from the Carrville United Church Cemetery, Headford United Church Cemetery, Holy Trinity Anglican Church Cemetery, Richmond Hill Presbyterian Cemetery, St. John's (Jefferson) Anglican Church Cemetery, St. Luke's (now St. Volodymr's) Church Cemetery, St. Mary's Anglican Church/Arnold Family Burial Grounds, Temperanceville Presbyterian Cemetery, Temperanceville United Church Cemetery, and Thornhill Community Cemetery. Additional photographs of related churches, including memorial windows are also available on this database.
Richmond Hill Photo Images Access to over 1,000 photographs of daily life in Richmond Hill from 1860. Drawn from the Library's local history photographic collection, it has been assembled from donated family photos provided by local residents, as well as from images from the Liberal newspaper archives.
Early Days in Richmond Hill Read the electronic version of the popular book by Robert M. Stamp, has been designed to make finding information about Richmond Hill's rich history and past citizens easy and convenient for students, genealogists, and local history enthusiasts.
Richmond Hill Public Library Newspapers Index In this index the York Herald is available for 1859 through 1863. The Herald started as York Commonwealth in 1858 and 1859. The name of the publication was changed on April 8, 1859.
- Published histories of Ontario communities
- 3 workstations to access online databases for Genealogy and Local History Research
- Microfiche Reader
- Affiliate library to the Latter Day Saints Family History Library
- Research Assistance